Age: 50 days old!!  Can you believe it?

Weight: 1725g (gain 70g – jeepers – he’ll be a butterball in no time!)

Okay – how many of you just googled the title?  I didn’t just make it up, I promise!  Also – for those of you that have already read yesterday’s post – I added some more photos that you most definitely want to check out!

So I rushed in this morning – was he still off CPAP?  Did he have a good night or bad?  Well – the answer is – he had an excellent night and was still trucking along on the high flow.  Phew!  In fact – he was doing so well that the nurse was going ahead with his bath.

Perfect timing for me – I got to give him a good scrub down and he actually seemed to enjoy it.  No squalls from him.  Afterwards we wrapped him up in a towel for a post bath/post breakfast snooze.

He is getting very, very close to clothes and an open crib AND I’m pretty sure the grandparents are practically salivating at the fact that they’re almost allowed to touch him!  Some pretty exciting things coming up in the future – so keep tuned.

The nurse left us a little note from the day shift (purple writing at the bottom)

Steve and I headed back in for the evening visit.  Jack was still on high flow and doing well.  We pulled him out for a cuddle and he did good at first but then kept setting the monitor off repeatedly.  Finally – a little anxious – I put him back in his incubator.  I didn’t want to be the reason why he had to go back on CPAP!  I headed off to pump and when I got back Steve told me to smell the garbage: “It smells like strawberries!” – huh?  When I got closer I noticed a very dirty looking wipe.  Jack had a massive poop (according to Steve it was the biggest he’d ever seen out of a baby – he then proceeded to describe it’s consistency and colour and don’t forget the SMELL!).  The best part is Steve got to change it and he pooped on Steve in the middle of the change.  Way to go Jack!

Steve said he might not have been finished so I had a quick peek in his diaper – and yep – he left me a present.  I changed him and forgot about the fire hose – I got a good dousing……  Jack christened us both today – but I think I got the better end of the deal!

He did this all by himself…. already posing for the camera!

I’m not sure the nose prongs are both supposed to be in the same nostril!